One Month

DSC_0235

I can’t believe one month has already come and gone! Tripp continues to amaze me and I continue to stare at him all day getting nothing accomplished. So much for maternity leave projects.  He just now has started to smile, not on command or due to anything I entice, but a smile none the less and I almost cry with love. He is so cute and cuddly I can’t contain myself.

Harper has fallen right into the big brother role and goes to him when he cries and lays on the floor in front of us when I feed him.  Tripp is quite a noisy eater, sleeper… pretty much noisy 24/7 and Harper is settling into his coos but definitely differentiate between them.

DSC_0236

In his first month Tripp has met most of his close family and friends. He was weighing 10lb15oz on his due date 8/18 when he was actually 3 1/2 weeks old and had outgrown his newborn clothes.  I may have teared up a little packing away the newborn outfits. Week 3 marked a milestone in our eyes in that he started staying awake for an hour at a time a few times each day.  At week 4 he was awake for 3 hours at one point.  He continues to sleep pretty well at night, no schedule but goes for 2 1/2 to 3 hours between wakes which is good from what I read. We are hoping to work on a schedule at week 7. Along with his weight gain, Tripp’s strength is growing as well. He can hold his head for seconds at the time to look around and kicks his legs with force.

Tripp loves the carseat and does well getting out and about. We try to make at least one daily outing. He may love the carseat too much as I let him finish out his nap there if we come home and he is still asleep which is causing him to have a heat rash on his neck and back of his head. Ohh the newborn struggles. We have had a few fussy periods where I wasn’t sure what his deal was but after some holding and rocking he eventually settles and we are back to normal.

DSC_0207 DSC_0227 DSC_0164

Leave a Reply

