Labor & Delivery

Order #182129237 - Week 38
As we were expecting, our big boy decided on making an early arrival.  On Sat, July 25 after I woke up at 5:30am I realized my waters had just broken.  Nothing traumatic or movie quality but today would be the day.  I woke Bryan up and I think we were both in shock as reality set in.  I wasn’t having contractions so was in no real rush to get to the hospital being a block away.  We had breakfast, I picked up the house some and got some last minute items together for the hospital.  Bryan was suppose to work so I sent him out to go to the bank, get himself some coffee and he ran by his job for about 20 min.
At about 9:30am I still wasn’t having contractions maybe just a little crampy but we decided to go on for the hospital.  When we got there we were checked at Triage and they confirmed my waters had broken and I was 3cm.  We were having our baby!!
IMG_1694
Finding out we would definitely be meeting our little man that day!
By Noon we had gotten settled into our L&D room, walked the halls, had some lunch and were truthfully just hanging out. I was starting to have mild contractions and Dr Dixon decided to try to help us along and started me on pitocin- a synthetic oxytocin, which speeds up labor by causing contractions.
By about 6pm I was ready for some pain management. I received IV meds and shortly after went for the epidural.  Some say they are scared for an epidural but for me I couldn’t have been more ready for the nurse anesthetist. My back had started having spasms so I wasn’t able to relax at all between contractions, just constant contractions between labor and my back.  It took about 15 min but my back eventually let go and I was able to relax some.  I was surprised to know I could still feel the contractions, but not painful and my legs weren’t immobile as I was expecting.  The only downside to the IV meds and epidural was they made me have the shakes for about 5 minutes after they were administered.
By 10:30 the nurse came in and said she wanted me to push and see how we were doing.  She was there to see if I was ready to make progress and help coach me through how to push.  This went on until midnight without much progress and they decided to let us rest and labor down.
At this point I think Bryan was more exhausted than I was. It had been a very long day! Somehow we both managed to fall asleep at this point.  I woke up after about an hour and could tell something had changed.  I woke up Bryan and he got the nurses to come back in.  Now.. 20 hours after my water broke we were ready to deliver!
 Dr Dixon came in and after some more coaching and about an hour of pushing. Our son was born.
Tripp Michael Eubanks
July 26, 2015 at 2:36am
8lbs 13 oz 20 in long
IMG_1720
IMG_1722
Leave a Reply

